Speculation and/or writing as a career?

Questions about career and job.
Forum rules
READ Forum-Wide Rules and Guidelines NOTICE: OFFENSIVE POSTS WILL BE DELETED, AND OFFENDERS WILL HAVE ALL POSTS MODERATED.
majestik108
Contributor
Contributor

Speculation and/or writing as a career?

Post by majestik108 » 22 Jul 2017

Hi everyone. I'm writing this post in the hopes of getting some advice regarding what a suitable career path for me would be. I'm a recent university graduate with a Bachelors degree in Commerce majoring in Marketing. I enjoy marketing quite a bit and have attempted to find a position in this field with no success at all. Rejected in the application phase itself.

I always saw a job as a stepping stone to me being self-employed. My lack of success with job hunting encouraged me to bypass the stepping stone and attempt to find a suitable career for me where I can be self-employed.

At the moment, I don't feel like I will enjoy being in the corporate side of the business world as there's a lot of, let's say, disingenuous social interaction that's required in order to move up the ranks and be successful in general. I'm also not a fan of the structured nature of this world. This is why I am drawn to speculation as I realised I can work anywhere, anytime and for myself as trading can be done online.

I attempted speculating a few months ago by investing into cryptocurrency by taking out a loan and made great gains initially, but lost all the profits plus some of my initial investment as I didn't sell at the right time and was looking at the long term.