Vedanta and Shaivism - Tying it With the Bhavas

For discussion on planets, houses, signs, nakshatras, etc.
Forum rules
Post Reply
Khoo Hock Leong
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 7758
Joined: 03 Jan 2009

Vedanta and Shaivism - Tying it With the Bhavas

Post by Khoo Hock Leong » 03 Dec 2018

Hi Learned Members

Hindu Philosophy has many schools of thought. See the link below :

But the one that ties closely with moksha is Vedanta (which worships Vishnu) and Shaivism (which worships Shiva).

We will run through the several sub-schools of each school (both Vedanta and Shaivism), and see the houses in the astrological chart they are tied to. The basis for each school in detail you can read from the link.



Should be solely the 12th house since Advaita stresses on "not two, sole, unity".


The 12th bhava and 1st bhava and how 1st bhava emerged from the 12th bhava, since we were made by Brahman even though our individual selves are non-illusion. The thrust for moksha, however, is still the 12th bhava.


The 10th bhava (Vishnu, supreme soul) and the individual souls (the 1st bhava) are distinct. Note that here the term "soul" does not refer to Atman represented by the 5th. Thevword soul here for the individual just refer to ordinary lives.


Brahman, the controller of both soul and matter, is the 12th; Soul is the 5th (5th is 6th of 12th) and matter is the 1st (12th is 12th to 1st). Devotion to Krishna consists of self-surrender which is the 10th (the 12th of Brahman emanates from Krishna, 12th being 3rd to 10th).


The 12th and 1st totally distinct and the 1st consist of purely fire - the Moon is not considered as the karaka for the 1st for this philosophy. The 2nd bhava (physical material world) is illusory and thus so is the 7th which is an expansion (6th) of the 2nd.

Acinta Bheda Abheda

God's energy is considered both distinct and non-distinct of God (10th and 12th bhavas). This means we have the option to move between the different higher lokas with the highest loka (10th) being that for Krishna (God) and the lowest that of pure moksha (12th), although the philosophy only emphasises the former. Loving devotion (bhakti) is required which is the 8th.

Notice Vedanta which emphasises worshipping Vishnu, tends to emphasise more the bhavas above the horizon.

To be cont'd

Khoo Hock Leong
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 7758
Joined: 03 Jan 2009

Re: Vedanta and Shaivism - Tying it With the Bhavas

Post by Khoo Hock Leong » 03 Dec 2018

We now come to Shaivism.


Pasupata Shaivism

The insentient which is the unconscious comes under the 6th bhava (the concept of 6th standing for the unconscious is according to Raj Kumar, the famed astrologer).

The sentient or conscious is the 5th bhava.

According to this school of thought, the insentient depends on the sentient as the 6th bhava is 2nd to the 5th bhava.

Salvation in Pasupata involved the union of the soul with God through the intellect. These are all 5th house matters including the fact that 5th is the 9th of the 9th, so it stands for God in our soul.

Sadhguru's Shaivism is less on the intellect but more on wisdom (intelligence), yoga and grace (his mantras are mostly calling on God's grace to fall on the individual). So his is more on Kashmir Shaivism (to be discussed later).

Shaiva Siddhanta

With its emphasis on rites, cosmology and theology, 9th house matters are emphasised (which is different from Pasupata Shaivism which only give credence to the 5th house as explained earlier); the objective is to create an ontologically distinct Shiva (1st house) through Shiva's grace (5th house).

Kashmir Shaivism

Emphasis is on wisdom (also known as intelligence ie. 5th house), yoga (3rd house) and grace (5th house).

This school of Shaivism consist of Trika and its philosophical articulation.

The meaning of Trika is explained in the website below :

So 1st bhava (Shiva), 2nd bhava (parapara which is Shakti) and 3rd bhava (nara) are involved.

Nara always reincarnate with Narayana together. Narayana is the 5th bhava. Arjun is Nara and Krishna is Narayana. You can search the website fore more details on Nara and Narayana.

Sadhguru subscribe most closely to this 3rd form of Shaivism.

Best Rgds
Mac Khoo Hock Leong

User avatar
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 308
Joined: 12 Apr 2019

Re: Vedanta and Shaivism - Tying it With the Bhavas

Post by lefteye » 19 Sep 2019

This is a good topic. Astrology,natives and astrologers all emerge out of pancha bhutas. All signs are related to these bhutas,basically. The combination of 5 elements in human body are explained in Tattva bodha by Sri Adi Shankara. Both Agama Saiva and Srividya traditions constantly give importance to these bhutas and tattvas-36 in Srividya and 96 in Agama-Shaiva.

Of these two,Srividya has a tradition of worshipping the 6 ritus with 6 separate avarana puja and corresponding moola mantras. Recently I have been collecting the moola mantras of each rasi with its own avarana puja.Invariably,for rasis,we have different forms of Vishnu in the avaranas.
भव शंकर देशिक मे शरणम्

Posts: 60
Joined: 05 Feb 2019

Re: Vedanta and Shaivism - Tying it With the Bhavas

Post by ReformedVivek » 20 Sep 2019

As the topic named itself is intriguing. But the content is little funny. :) I mean, when you take Virgo Ascendant, Mercury will rule both 1st & 10th. Same is for Pisces Ascendant natives, Jupiter rules 1st & 10th... You can see lot of Virgo Ascendant natives involved in above mentioned 3rd "theory"

In the 1st case:
If you take the chart of his holiness Kanchi Sahankaracharya Swamy Chedrashekhara Saraswati, his Lagna lord is in 10th house with 5th lord & Mercury. His 12th Lord is aspecting all the 3 from 4th house.

Nice intriguing topic... But... There is lot to it. :)

Post Reply